And That Was Just The Edge

It’s Monday morning and I have traded the gas station food, tennis shoes and the middle seat of the van for sushi, high heels and the corner office. Though I’m back to the calendared days of to-do lists and responsibility, I can’t shake the renewal of the depth of fascination that the events of last week cultivated for me.

Upon my return home, a friend asked, “So are you satisfied? Did you see what you wanted to see?” Though I saw, learned and experienced far more than I expected, the irresistible curiosity that drove me to seek such an adventure has only been deepened and cultivated further than when I began. I am not satisfied because the more that I learn, the more I realize that I don’t know. And it’s there, within the hours upon hours of traveling, learning, laughing, and growing that I found a home of sorts.

It’s a home that stands between the quiet hours of pondering and the adrenaline-laced moments of excitement at the foot of an awe-inspiring natural phenomenon. It’s a home that beckons me in to marvel and explore, and it’s a home that invites me in to rest and enjoy.

I think we were created to dwell in the adventure. Created to embark on a journey with an undetermined destination. Created to live each day with the wonder of the unknown before us. Created to explore boldly, learn richly and love deeply. Created to enjoy the land in between where we have been and where we are going. That’s the abundant life. And whether I am standing beneath the most magnificent supercell storm and lightning show I can imagine or tackling my to-do list in the corner office, I choose to embrace the adventure of each new day. It is there, in the “road less traveled by” that “has made all the difference” (Robert Frost), that I find my home.

Last week, I caught another glimpse of the “fringes of His glory.” Though worth the pursuit and life-changing in its capture, it has only compelled me to pursue His glory further . . .

“And these are but the outer fringe of his works; how faint the whisper we hear of him! 
 Who then can understand the thunder of his power?” –Job 26:14

This entry was posted in Amy.

Leave a Reply

