You Can’t Always Get What You Want

Well, yesterday started off with a bang. My body and mind were raring to go, literally itching for a tornado. Conditions were somewhat favorable and our storm looked promising…

However, luck would not be on our side that day. Our cell became shielded and dissipated before any tornadoes formed.

Mr. Carey had warned us that this might happen. I knew before I came that this was not going to be the storm chasing of the movies. Unlike what is portrayed in “Twister”, massive tornadoes do not pop up every five to ten minutes.

I was not expecting to see monster F5 tornadoes, but the hurry up and waiting that occurred yesterday was somewhat sobering. Although I knew that I could go the whole week without actually seeing a funnel, I don’t think I had truly “processed” it.

I don’t know how I would react to not seeing anything all week. On the one hand, the reason I came on this trip was to see tornadoes, so I would probably be disappointed. On the other hand, I have been to many new places and learned new things, and the relationships that I have built this week will stay with me for years to come. So, I guess I wouldn’t be all that upset about not seeing a tornado after all. Still, I remain hopeful, as today’s forecast looks all the more promising.

This entry was posted in Ashlee.

Leave a Reply

