Day Two

Today was a day of new experiences.

You know how the Great Plains are wide open space. Well, I knew that or thought I did. Having lived my entire life in hills and forests, I don’t think I ever really grasped what ‘wide open space’ actually meant. It was almost dizzying being able to see for miles and miles – clear off into the horizon – with hardly any landmarks.

I can also now mark New Mexico as a state I’ve been too. The dry heat has nothing on Alabama humidity, so it’s very comfortable (though my lips are chapped and skin dry). Roswell was one of our stops; it was interesting to say the least. Many funny alien themed things around town. Our last stop – and the most exciting one to me – was Carlsbad Cave, where we had a beautiful view from atop a mountain (it’s amazing how quickly the landscape went from flat to mountainous) and got to watch bats fly out of the cave as the sun went down.

All in all, it was an amazing day.

P.S. Cow farms smell awful.

-Ashton

This entry was posted in Ashton.

Leave a Reply

