The Whirlwind and the Whisper

At last, the long anticipated stormchasing adventure is upon us. I have been looking forward to this since the first rumors of the idea were heard throughout the hallowed halls of UMobile during my freshman year. I immediately knew I wanted to be involved though I knew very little about the project at the time. Looking back, I think it’s the sense of the unknown that continues to draw me to it today.

I realize that it’s ridiculous. I regularly field the question of, “WHY, would anyone, especially you, go stormchasing?” For the first part of the semester, my response was simply, “why not?” But now, I’m realizing that its allure goes deeper than that.

Especially in light of the recent tornado outbreaks that hit so close to home, the upcoming stormchasing excursion is more than just an adrenaline-seeking adventure. It’s deeply rooted in an insatiable curiosity and fascination with the creation that reflects the nature of a marvelously awe-inspiring Creator. It’s a sombering, humbling experience to seek such
powerfully devastating phenomena simply to capture the essence of the unknown and marvel at its mystery. It’s a pursuit to understand the responsibility bestowed on us as stewards of a beautifully intricate creation. Ultimately, it’s simply a desire to experience the power of a mysterious yet readily available Creator who eagerly beckons me to “come and see.”

He’s a Creator who makes himself known in both whirlwind and the whisper. I suspect that on this adventure, I’ll encounter him in both.

“He loads the clouds with moisture; he scatters his lightning through them. At his direction they swirl around over the face of the whole earth to do whatever he commands them . . . stop and consider God’s wonders.”-Job 37:11-12, 13.

This entry was posted in Amy.

One comment on “The Whirlwind and the Whisper

  1. Larry Holley says:

    Amy: Good luck should be fun but could be very dangerous. Hope you the best. Wish I could be there with you. I’ve always been in awe of tornados I live in Foley,Ala. am 69 years old. Little late for me to be chasing storms.

Leave a Reply

