Check One Off the Bucket List

Storm Chasing with Steve Carey

Ft. Cody, North Platte, Nebraska

I found the Ft. Cody depiction of a Native American to be disrespectful and a little frightening

June 8, 2010

OK, I admit it.  I’m addicted to cheesy tourist traps.   Today,  I finally had the chance to visit Ft. Cody in North Platte, Nebraska.   Sitting off I-80, Ft. Cody looks like Hollywood’s version of  a 19th century western US Army Cavalry post.   Basically,  Ft. Cody is a  gift shop with a few exhibits depicting life on the Great Plains.   Outside, within the stockade walls,  are various weathered buildings, tepees,  covered wagons, and a very tall, very stiff-looking, very surreal statue of a Native American.  What the heck?   I’m no believer in political correctness, but I found this offensive and unnecessary.     At least there was no charge to roam the “fort’s” grounds.   So, did I buy anything?  Ah, yeah.

Leave a Reply

